[Book Review] Slumber (Beauty Never Dies Chronicles #1) by J.L. Weil 

Synopsis  

There is no such thing as happily ever after. Everything Charlotte Winston thought she knew has been thrown out the window. From the moment she opens her eyes, the world she remembered ceases to exist, and in its place is a post-apocalyptic realm filled with unimaginable dangers. And one very smoking hot guy who has an uncanny ability to make her blood sing, then boil in a blink of an eye. Dash Darhk is everything her parents would hate. He’s six feet and two inches of dark temptation and a killer smile, that’s surely left a stream of broken hearts in his wake. But her parents are nowhere to be found. Charlotte is alone in this new world. Destroyed by a toxic mist, the land isn’t the only thing altered, but the inhabitants as well. As Charlotte begins the hunt for her family, gifts she’s never fathom awake inside her. And with the gifts come problems. Enormous ones. Charlotte is running out of options and places to hide. If she can’t figure out who to trust-and fast-she will lose more than her heart. Fans of Hunger Games, The 100, and Divergent will fall in love with Slumber.


More Details

Genre: Dystopia, Romance
Page Length: 305
Characters: Charlotte, Dash
Publication Date: 16th November 2016
Format: eBook


Review

This was another book that I found on my kindle the other day, I’ve been reading a lot of normal romance recently so I fancied something a bit different and this ticked the box.

The story starts off a little sleeping beauty esque, when Dash find Charlotte asleep and is compelled to kiss, and this leads to her waking up after 100 years of slumber. Charlotte wakes to a very different world. Everything she once knew is gone.

I really liked the story it was a nice blend of romance & dystopia. I thought the world building was very good, it was refreshing different from anything I’ve read recently.

I think I enjoyed Dash’s character more than Charlotte, he was intriguing and has lots of secrets, I’m looking forward to finding out more about him the next book. Charlotte was ok, she just seemed a little more immature by I’m hoping her character develops more as the story goes on.

The Bottom Line:

This was a really nice little story, I really enjoyed it and I already have the next book pre-ordered.

My Rating:  3/5  🌟🌟🌟

Advertisements

If There’s No Tomorrow – Jennifer L.Armentrout

This Review Contains Spoilers!

Synopsis  

Lena Wise is always looking forward to tomorrow, especially at the start of her senior year. She’s ready to pack in as much friend time as possible, to finish college applications and to maybe let her childhood best friend Sebastian know how she really feels about him. For Lena, the upcoming year is going to be epic—one of opportunities and chances.

Until one choice, one moment, destroys everything.

Now Lena isn’t looking forward to tomorrow. Not when friend time may never be the same. Not when college applications feel all but impossible. Not when Sebastian might never forgive her for what happened.

For what she let happen.

With the guilt growing each day, Lena knows that her only hope is to move on. But how can she move on when her and her friends’ entire existences have been redefined? How can she move on when tomorrow isn’t even guaranteed? 


More Details

Genre: Young Adult
Page Length: 384
Characters: Lena and Sebastian
Publication Date: 5th September 2017
Format: eBook


Review

Ah, this book hit me in so many feels.

Lena is the lone survivor of an accident that kills 4 of her friends, and as you would expect she has survivors guilt, not only because she is the only one that lived, but because she feels like she could have prevented and maybe she could have. So, this story is more than just a regular love story, it’s about healing and it’s about learning to live with the choices you make in life and the consequences of these choices.

I really enjoyed how JLA wrote this book, the first few chapters are the build-up to the event, so you get to learn about the characters that died before that die, which sounds kind of morbid but I thought it made the impact of their deaths even bigger.  You also get to see how Lena was before the accident. Which at times I was like come I want the story to start but in hindsight, it was great because instead of flat characters that have died we got to see them as 3-dimensional l people living their lives.

Ok so let’s get to Sebastian, pre-accident he was your pretty standard love interest. It wasn’t until afterward that he truly shined for me, there’s this great scene when Lena is still in the hospital and he is visiting her but she doesn’t want him around:

“Can you just leave?” I asked, begged really. “Please?” His gaze held mine for a moment and then he stood, and I wanted to sink through the bed, sink down into nothing. Sebastian didn’t leave, though. He wasn’t my father. He wasn’t me. Grabbing the chair, he picked it up and planted it right by the top of my bed and then he sat down. My heart pounded. He rested his right arm on the bed beside mine and then leaned over, stretching his left arm so his fingers caught the limp strands of my hair, brushing them back from my face as he said, “I’m not leaving. You can get mad. You can get upset, but I’m staying right here, because whether you realize it or not, you shouldn’t be alone. I’m not going anywhere.”

I just wanted to hug him for that response because it was so perfect! I loved that he knew what she needed even when she didn’t. I really did love them together, I liked how understanding he was of everything that she was going through, and most importantly he supported her. So yeah Sebastian was a pretty awesome character.

Finally, I loved Lena, her journey was difficult but real and that’s what made this story so heart-wrenching. I have lost count of the many stories in the news about teens who lose their lives driving drunk. That whole “it won’t happen to me is” is a very real mantra for lots of young people and adults actually. That’s what made this story just so great.

ITNT 2.png

The Bottom Line:

Just read the book, initially in my head I scored this book 4/5 but after some reflection, I couldn’t find anything wrong with it so yeah go grab a copy asap!

 My Rating:  5/5 🌟 🌟🌟🌟🌟

 

 

 

 

The Struggle (Titan #3) – Jennifer L. Armentrout

*Major spoilers ahead!*

Blurb

 A bloody path has been chosen…

The war against the Titans continues, and they remain determined to wreak havoc on the world, but Seth has become something all gods fear. Now the most dangerous, most absolute power no longer resides in those who have been freed from their tombs.

The Great War fought by the few is coming…

All may doubt and fear what Seth has become. All except the one woman who might be his final chance at redemption. Josie will do anything to prove that Seth is on their side, but fate has a nasty way of changing lives, of changing people.

In the end, the sun will fall…

The only way they can save the future and save themselves is by facing the unknown together. It will take more than trust and faith. It will take love and the kind of strength not easily broken. No matter what, their lives will never be the same.

For what the gods have feared has come to pass. The end of the old is here and the beginning of the new has been ushered in…


STATS

Page Length: 368
Publication Year: 2017
Genre: New Adult/Supernatural
Characters: Josie, Seth, Luke, Deacon, Alex, Aiden etc


Overview

I loved it!! I’m so hooked to this series! I discovered after devouring this book that there is going to be fourth! (thank the gods!)

I’m going to review this a bit differently as I’ve already done character analysis in the last two reviews and I don’t want it to become repetitive. So I’m just going to go through and tell you what loved and didn’t love so much because let’s be honest I didn’t hate anything about this book!

What I loved:

  • Seth is a freaking GOD now! I thought after the last book he would just be the god killer but no he’s a legit god who is absolute, meaning that there are only a few gods that could take him down. It also means he is no longer destined to be Hades bitch as he is now immortal!
  • It finally seems as though  Seth ahs come to his senses and has committed to Josie! Hooray!
  • Josie is pregnant! Holy daimen babies I cannot wait to find out just how powerful their child is going to be!
  • Seth DESTROYING Titans!
  • All the references to Supernatural

This book gave me so many feels I can’t even tell you!

What could have been better:

  • I would like to have seen more of the new demigods that had been found.

 Favorite Quote:

The Struggle

Conclusion:

This installment is the best one yet! I highly recommend! My rating 5/5