BR: Red Queen – Victoria Aveyard

Blurb

This is a world divided by blood – red or silver.

The Reds are commoners, ruled by a Silver elite in possession of god-like superpowers. And to Mare Barrow, a seventeen-year-old Red girl from the poverty-stricken Stilts, it seems like nothing will ever change.

That is, until she finds herself working in the Silver Palace. Here, surrounded by the people she hates the most, Mare discovers that, despite her red blood, she possesses a deadly power of her own. One that threatens to destroy the balance of power.

Fearful of Mare’s potential, the Silvers hide her in plain view, declaring her a long-lost Silver princess, now engaged to a Silver prince. Despite knowing that one misstep would mean her death, Mare works silently to help the Red Guard, a militant resistance group, and bring down the Silver regime.

But this is a world of betrayal and lies, and Mare has entered a dangerous dance – Reds against Silvers, prince against prince, and Mare against her own heart.


Stats

Page Length: 383
Publication Year:
2015
Genre: 
FANTASY/DYSTOPIA
Characters:  Mare, Maven and Cal


Thoughts

I’ve read a lot of hype about this book so I was expecting a lot from this book before I even started. I did enjoy the story but I don’t think it really lived up to the hype and I’ll explain why a bit further on.

Story

This story is written in the first person and is told from Mares POV. I thought the writing was mostly good, I felt the tone of it came off as a little juvenile at times though. I felt the length of time the war had been going a bit unrealistic if I’m being honest. I mean how were there so many Reds left if they are the ones doing most of the fighting? Surely their numbers would be dropping steeply?

Characters

To being with I really liked Mare, I felt for her cause and I really wanted her to triumph over the Silvers. But then she started trusting Maven way to fast. Just because some is kind to you doesn’t mean they are on your side, from that point on I started feeling frustrated with her character. I thought she was very naïve believing everything that was coming out of his mouth. Especially when he was blatantly jealous of his brother and his mother is a heinous bitch. I could see his deception coming a mile away.

I liked Cal way more than I should have, even though he was let’s be honest an ass for 3 quarters of the books. I really feel there is more to him than what we see from Mare’s perspective. I also think that he and Mare are a better fit for one another. – If I read the next books I’ll be interested to see where this goes.

Favorite Quote:

b5a3a8db917b80a5a0f8bbec8e846298.jpg 

 Conclusion:

This was an entertaining read but as said before I don’t really get all the hype that surrounds this book. I would recommend this book. I’m fairly certain I’ll read the 2nd book just to see where the story goes.

My Rating:  3/5  🌟🌟🌟

Leave a Reply

