FIRSTLIFE – Gena Showalter

Blurb

ONE CHOICE.
TWO REALMS.
NO SECOND CHANCE.

Tenley “Ten” Lockwood is an average seventeen-year-old girl…who has spent the past thirteen months locked inside the Prynne Asylum. The reason? Not her obsession with numbers, but her refusal to let her parents choose where she’ll live—after she dies.

There is an eternal truth most of the world has come to accept: Firstlife is merely a dress rehearsal, and real life begins after death.

In the Everlife, two realms are in power: Troika and Myriad, longtime enemies and deadly rivals. Both will do anything to recruit Ten, including sending their top Laborers to lure her to their side. Soon, Ten finds herself on the run, caught in a wild tug-of-war between the two realms who will do anything to win the right to her soul. Who can she trust? And what if the realm she’s drawn to isn’t home to the boy she’s falling for? She just has to stay alive long enough to make a decision…


STATS

Page Length: 467
Publication Year: 2016
Genre: Fantasy/Dystopia/Young Adult
Characters: Ten, Killian and Archer (aka Bow)


Story/ Characters

I liked the concept of this story, I thought it was different. However, I find it very slow going some chapters felt like they went on forever. The story seemed like it was dragged out far longer than it should have been which made me feel a little disconnected to the story. Halfway through the book, I was reading it more to get it finished and not because I was enjoying the story.

To begin with, I liked Ten’s character, she is ballsy and can look out for herself. But towards the end she really started to annoy me, with the whole I don’t know what side to choose, I need more time to make my decision blah blah blah. She has been locked in an asylum for the last 13months surely that’s more than an enough time to make a choice.

I much preferred Archer when he was a girl (Bow), I have no problems with the gender switch but they felt like two different people after the switch.

I can honestly say I felt nothing for Killian. He was an ok character he had a pretty sad background but I didn’t really understand or connect to him at all.

Favorite Quote:

“You saved me from the worst kind of death, as if you breathed into me my very first breath. You, Archer Prince, oh, how you shine. Now and forever, you’ll always be mine. I’ll miss you, dear Bow, for the short time we’re apart.” My chin trembles as I say, “Take care of this gift…for I give you my heart. You are loved, I love you. Because of you, I’ve been made new”

Conclusion:

This wasn’t a bad book, I felt it was actually really well written. I just don’t think it was 100% to my taste, I do like my books to have a bit more romance in them and I think that’s what I missed the most. So if you enjoy a story that focus’s more on the action and drama side of things that this is defiantly for you.

My Rating:  3/5 🌟🌟🌟

Leave a Reply

