Rebel – Elle Casey

Blurb

Teagan Cross, college senior, rebel, and wiseass extraordinaire, goes from princess to pauper in a single phone call. Overnight, her life of privilege becomes one of survival, and no matter where she turns, it seems like the world is out to get her. She’s not going to fall apart, though. She’s a rebel and she’s strong … determined to live life on her own terms … and nothing’s going to stop her from getting things done and making things right. But when a twist of fate brings her to the doorstep of a different kind of Rebel, she’s forced to figure out when something’s worth fighting for and when something’s worth letting go.


Stats

Page Length: 294
Publication Year: 2013
Genre: New Adult/Romance
Characters: Teagan, Rebel


So after a week where I read two exceptionally brilliant books, this one left a lot to be desired. I think my main irk with this book is that I didn’t really feel anything for the characters and as I hate DNF’s I powered through.

Story/ Characters:

I thought the story was well written, it’s told in the first person from Teagan’s POV. I did think it lacked something but I can really put my finger on exactly what. So to try to keep things constructive:

What I liked

  • The whole rich girl loses her fortune and must learn to look after herself storyline always draws me into a story
  • Teagan’s independence

What I didn’t like

  • Rebel, for some reason I just kept picturing Vin Diesel which was very off putting. Looking back I think this is because of his description or lack of, the only thing we find out is that he is really good looking, is packing muscle and has tattoos. No hair or eye colour was mention from what I remember.
  • How Teagan came to lose her money was a tad strange and we never learn the whole truth
  • The ending, there were so many loose ends. Apart from Teagan and Rebel deciding to be together nothing else was resolved!

Conclusion:

There’s not a lot more I can say really. I can say that I probably wouldn’t recommend it.  There are two more books in the series but I’ll probably give those a miss.

My Rating 2/3

Leave a Reply

