Rhapsodic (The Bargainer#1) – Laura Thalassa

Blurb

Callypso Lillis is a siren with a very big problem, one that stretches up her arm and far into her past. For the last seven years she’s been collecting a bracelet of black beads up her wrist, magical IOUs for favors she’s received. Only death or repayment will fulfill the obligations. Only then will the beads disappear.

Everyone knows that if you need a favor, you go to the Bargainer to make it happen. He’s a man who can get you anything you want… at a price. And everyone knows that sooner or later he always collects.

But for one of his clients, he’s never asked for repayment. Not until now. When Callie finds the fae king of the night in her room, a grin on his lips and a twinkle in his eye, she knows things are about to change. At first, it’s just a chaste kiss—a single bead’s worth—and a promise for more.

For the Bargainer, it’s more than just a matter of rekindling an old romance. Something is happening in the Otherworld. Fae warriors are going missing one by one. Only the women are returned, each in a glass casket, a child clutched to their breast. And then there are the whispers among the slaves, whispers of an evil that’s been awoken.

If the Bargainer has any hope to save his people, he’ll need the help of the siren he spurned long ago. Only, his foe has a taste for exotic creatures, and Callie just happens to be one


STATS

Page Length: 326
Publication Year: 2016
Genre: Fantasy/Paranormal/ Romance
Characters: Callie, The Bargainer (Des)


Story: 

It’s amazing how you can read a blurb and interpret how you think a story is going to go and then BOOM get blown away about just how epic it is! This is pretty much how this made me feel. I really wasn’t expecting to love this as much as did, I heard a lot of talk about it Facebook when it first came out and so added it to my TBR list.

I loved the storyline, it’s emotionally charged and you can really feel the tension between Callie and Des.

It’s told from Callie’s perspective and is in the first person. The first half of the book is split between past and present, so you get a nice balance of learning the history Callie has with the Bargainer, whilst still being in engaged in the events that are currently happening. I really liked that it was written this way because even though it was all told from Callie’s POV I could easily interpret what the Bargainer was feeling even when Callie couldn’t, which really helped me to connect with both characters.

Characters:

The thing I really like about Callie is that she isn’t perfect. The whole reason she meets the Bargainer is because she kills her step-dad (not that he didn’t deserve it) and she calls in his help to cover it up. I also love her strength, even after everything she has been through she is determined to never be a victim again. However, she does have her vulnerabilities. I also really liked how she connected with Des, he is supposed to be this big bad ass Fae King but she manages to look past this to the man that he really is. The feels between these two are just so beautiful!

“I didn’t fall for Des because he was handsome, or because he knew my secrets, but because he stuck around when I was least lovable. Because he was a man who didn’t try to take anything from me even when I lay next to him, but instead gave me peace and comfort. Because each one of those nights he saved me all over again, even if it was from myself”

The Bargainer AKA (in his own words)  His Majesty Desmond Flynn, Emperor of the Evening Stars, Lord of Secrets, Master of Shadows, and King of Chaos.”  Yeah you would think that would some up his character but it’s not even close. Des is so much more that his titles. Through almost half of this book you don’t really get the impression that Des is a good guy, he is ruthless to anyone that owes him a debt (except Callie) and he makes no apologies for this but this is mainly a façade he puts on to the outside world because when he is with Callie he has the biggest heart! Some of the things he says to her are pretty breathtaking:

“he breathes heavily against me, leaning his forehead against mine. “You want to know a real secret?” he rasps. I nod against him. “I want to wake up to you every single morning.”

And

He presses his lips close to my ear. “Do you want to know a truth of mine?” “Always,” I say, turning my head to better face him. He takes my hand and presses it against his chest. Beneath my palm I feel his heartbeat racing. My eyes move from his chest to his face. “It does that whenever I’m around you,” he says.

And

“Callie, I love you. I’ve loved you from the beginning. And I will love you long after the last star dies. I will love you until the end of darkness itself.”

I mean come on, you can’t be that bad of a person if you’re saying stuff like this! So yeah I think I might love this guy a little bit!

Favourite Quote:

06b4ca4d31b5006c305e55942ecfe606

Conclusion:

Overall, if you enjoyed books about Fae and if you liked A Court of Thorns and Roses/Mist and Fury you will probably like this. I defiantly recommend you read it even if you just like romance and a bit of fantasy. I promise you won’t be disappointed!

My Rating: 5/5 🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟

Leave a Reply

