Holiday in the Hamptons – Sarah Morgan

Blurb: 

The perfect summer escape…?

Professional dog-walker Felicity Knight loves everything about New York…until her ex-husband starts working at her local vet clinic. She hasn’t seen Seth Carlyle in ten years, but one glimpse of him – too gorgeous, and still too good for her – and Fliss’s heart hurts like their whirlwind marriage ended yesterday. So when her grandmother in The Hamptons needs help for the summer, it seems the perfect way to escape her past…

Their relationship might only have lasted a few scorching months, but vet Seth knows Fliss – if she’s run away to The Hamptons, it’s because she still feels their connection and it terrifies her. He let her go once before, when he didn’t know any better, but not this summer! With the help of his adorable dog Lulu, and a sprinkling of beachside magic, Seth is determined to make Fliss see that he’s never stopped loving her…


STATS

Page Length: 384
Publication Year: 2017
Genre: Contemporary Romance
Characters: Fliss, Harriet, and Seth


I received an advance copy of this through NetGallley in exchange for my review.

Professional Reader

Story

I felt this story was very well written, however it was a bit slow going in the beginning. I really liked the storyline, it’s definitely a bit different to what I’ve read recently. I thought the attention to detail was really excellent, the descriptions of the beach and surroundings were really good. I had no trouble in picturing what I was reading.

I felt that Sarah Morgan really nailed what it was like to grow up in an emotionally abusive home. The damage this did to Fliss was very accurately portrayed, I think any adult who witnessed this and experienced this as a child (myself included) will relate to some if not all of what Fliss felt.

Characters 

Fliss is such a complex character, in the beginning, I did get a little frustrated with her, her opinion of herself but as I learned more about her upbringing how her father treated her it all came together and made sense.

Seth is your typical good guy who made mistakes in his past and is now working towards fixing them. I liked how patient and understanding he was about how Fliss was feeling for the most part.

Harriet, who is Fliss’s identical twin. To begin with its plays out as if she is the complete opposite of Fliss, and this is somewhat true but here is a passage towards the end where you see she has the same feisty and protective streak that Fliss, she just hides it well.

Conclusion

To conclude I did enjoy this book. I felt it was a little drawn out with in the beginning but overall it was a good read. My Rating 3/5.


This book is due for release on 15th June 2017, Pre-order here.

2 thoughts on “Holiday in the Hamptons – Sarah Morgan

  1. Hi there! I just came across this post of yours and your blog in general and I couldn’t help but comment and tell you how much I love this! Keep up the great work, I am going to follow you so I can keep up with all your new posts!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

