Broken God – Nazarea Andrews

Blurb

Power is a strange and broken thing.

He was the sun god, the god of healing and song.
And prophecy.
Apollo has lived alone for centuries, content to spin out the years wandering a new and strange world, lost in the past and endless versions of the future. He has cut all ties with the remains of Olympus and his power, and hidden himself in humanity.
His twin thinks he’s depressed, spending his time in coffee shops, hospital waiting rooms, and concert halls…and nothing matters. Not really.
Until her.
Iris. With her teasing mouth and soulful music and eyes that remind him of the past.
He can’t resist her smile.
A girl as wild as he was, once, with a poet’s tongue and the body of a siren, who for one night makes him forget all the years and everything he gave up.
And he can’t stop fate.
Gods knows he’s tried.
He can’t help taking her.
Even if he knows better.
When Iris wakes up screaming, caught up in visions of the future, Apollo realizes that he didn’t leave his power quite as far behind as he thought.
He’s the god of prophecy and he’s been running from it, for centuries.
Iris is everything he has to avoid.
Now he has a furious Oracle on his hands, his sister trying to fix him, and someone is killing the gods.
It’s not just his tenuous sanity that hangs in the balance this time.
It’s all of Olympus.
Godhood really wasn’t supposed to be this hard.

STATS

Page Length: 162
Publication Year: September 2016
Genre: Fantasy/Romance
Characters: Apollo, Iris, Delphi


Ok….. so that was different! I’ve just finished this and I’m not sure how I feel about this book. It was nothing and mean nothing like how I expected it to be.

Firstly it’s told entirely from Apollo’s point of view. I don’t read that many books that are told just from a male point of view so that was a nice change of pace. From the blurb expected this be a fairly light-hearted read but in fact it was the complete opposite. Most of the time it was fairly depressing. Which didn’t really sit well with me, I much prefer my books to have more of a positive vibe to them.

I have mixed feelings about Apollo part of me feels really sorry for him, he is really lonely and has cut himself off from people to try and prevent a prophecy coming true that states his entire family will die, but then I also feel a like he kinda brought all his problems on himself. I don’t know just didn’t completely like him.

I didn’t particularly enjoy the way this book was written either, it had a dreamy like feel to it. Which to me made it seem dull. I also felt like it was missing something, I can’t quite put my finger on what though. It just seemed a bit empty like there could have been more story.

What I did like was the ending because it did seem Apollo got his happily ever after to a certain degree.

Overall I can’t say that I liked or disliked this book, it left me feeling slightly bewildered, but could be due to my lack of knowlege about the Greek gods….

If you enjoy Greek mythology you’ll probably like this. My rating: 2/5

Leave a Reply

