White Hot Kiss – The Dark Elements Series (Re-Read) – Jennifer L Armentrout

*This post contains spoilers!*

Blurb:

One kiss could be the last.

Seventeen-year-old Layla just wants to be normal. But with a kiss that kills anything with a soul, she’s anything but normal. Half demon, half gargoyle, Layla has abilities no one else possesses.

Raised among the Wardens—a race of gargoyles tasked with hunting demons and keeping humanity safe—Layla tries to fit in, but that means hiding her own dark side from those she loves the most. Especially Zayne, the swoon-worthy, incredibly gorgeous and completely off-limits Warden she’s crushed on since forever.

Then she meets Roth—a tattooed, sinfully hot demon who claims to know all her secrets. Layla knows she should stay away, but she’s not sure she wants to—especially when that whole no-kissing thing isn’t an issue, considering Roth has no soul.

But when Layla discovers she’s the reason for the violent demon uprising, trusting Roth could not only ruin her chances with Zayne… it could brand her a traitor to her family. Worse yet, it could become a one-way ticket to the end of the world.

Page Length: 388
Publication Year: 2014
Genre: Fantasy/Paranormal/Romance/Young Adult

Characters: Layla, Roth, Zayne, Stacey, Sam

I’m trying to remember exactly how many times I’ve read this book… it has got to be at least the 6th! To say that I love this series is an understatement, to say the least. I’ve read a lot of books by Jennifer L Armentrout and this my favorite, although I do adore the Lux series as well!

Anyway back to White Hot Kiss, Layla is part demon, the part warden who has been brought up by the Wardens to deny her demon side. Because of Layla’s duel heritage she has a couple of special abilities, 1, she can feed off the souls of humans if she kisses one, 2, she can see souls and from this determines how pure they are and 3, when she touches a demon it leaves a trace that the wardens can see, which helps them track the down said demons and send them back to hell. One evening whilst out tagging a demon she meets Roth! 😍

I really like Layla, I find her to be such a relatable character. Although she is not human she displays a lot of human like behavior which is one of the reasons I liked her so much. I also like her character progression and personal growth. in the beginning, she saw things from things from a narrower point of view, Demons bad, Wardens good. Which is largely due to how she was brought up and I liked seeing how she gradually learned that this is not the case.

A lot of the focus of this book is the balance between good and evil along with the complexity that brings and nothing highlighted this more for me than this quote:

 

And that brings us to Roth. I will confess he is one of my top favorite male characters, he oozes sex appeal! He’s the right amount of cocky and sarcastic and of course charm. Which is to be expected with him being a demon, what you don’t expect is his compassion and fierce protectiveness (mainly of Layla!) He has the perfect bad boy exterior but also has a gooey warm center. Also, his love for Gun’n’Roses is pretty damn cool! He is always humming Paradise City! and now whenever I hear this song I think of him!

The chemistry between him and Layla is off the charts hot! One of the things I particularly like about these two together is that Roth just accepts what Layla is, he doesn’t try and pretend that part of her heritage isn’t there.  I love how Jen manages to write her characters with so much muchness that you can really feel what they are feeling for one another.

I also really like Stacey and Sam who are Layla’s best friends. They have no idea who she really is and just thinks that she was adopted by the Wardens. I liked Stacey’s sass and Sam’s nerdiness is really sweet.

The Wardens, this is the first series I’ve read that has gargoyles so this part of the story really piqued my interest. I don’t have so many positive vibes for Zayne (who Layla grew up with and is somewhat in love with) in my opinion he’s an ok character, I understand his part in the story but I just didn’t enjoy his personality. In general, I didn’t like that the Wardens (and this isn’t all of them) represses that Layla is part demon, they totally reject that part of her.

I’m not going to go into too much of what happens in the story as it’s best kept a surprise, but the ending is so gut wrenching. I’ll leave this one last quote:

 

So if you like romance and love triangles with a bit of supernatural mixed in then I recommend you read this!

Obviously, I completely love this book so I will be giving it a 5/5 rating!

🎵🎵”Take me down to the paradise city
Where the grass is green and the girls are pretty
(oh won’t you please take me home)”🎵🎵
One thought on “White Hot Kiss – The Dark Elements Series (Re-Read) – Jennifer L Armentrout

Leave a Reply

