Revelation Series (Part 1) – Randi Cooley Wilson

*I have broken down the review into 2 parts. This first part will I’ll be reviewing at Revelation and Restraint* 

Revelation Blurb:

A DIVINE SECRET,
A LOYAL PROTECTOR,
A FORBIDDEN LOVE.

Eve Collins starts her freshman year at college blissfully unaware that one revelation will challenge everything she’s believed to be true about her family, life, and future, and right in the midst of it all is Asher St. Michael.

Mysterious and aloof, Asher is appointed to protect Eve at all costs. Bound by his oath of loyalty to mankind, loving her is forbidden.

Dark and enigmatic, Gage Gallagher may be even more dangerous to Eve than the demonic army that hunts her.
Caught in the middle of a centuries old war, Eve must choose sides knowing that the wrong choice will cost more than just her life.
Can Asher and Eve fulfil their destinies or will their love destroy everything?

Revelation is a journey of self-discovery, love, and sacrifice.

Page Length: 314
Publication Year: May 2014
Genre: New Adult/Romance/Paranormal/Fantasy

Restraint Blurb:

A FORBIDDEN LOVE WILL BECOME DEEPER.
A LOYALTY WILL BE TESTED.
AND ONLY DARKNESS WILL REMAIN.

One revelation changed everything, turning Eve Collin’s world upside down. Now, she’s left to struggle with her identity and allegiance. Haunted by grief and tempted by her increasing attraction to her protector, will she ever truly be safe from enemies that refuse to give up?

Restraint is an addictively spellbinding continuation of Eve’s journey of self-discovery, love and sacrifice that will change everything.

Page Length: 300
Publication Year: August 2014
Genre: New Adult/Romance/Paranormal/Fantasy

Characters: Eve, Asher, Abby, Callen, Mckenna, Keegan and Gage

I started this series with no preconceived notions, I really like books that center around Angels so I was excited to start this one.

Eve is an ordinary college student until she’s not. Haunted by nightmares that frequently wake her (and her roommates), she doesn’t think much of them until she meets Asher St.Micheal.

I feel like that even though this is new adult Eve is sometimes really childish and I could have really liked her character had she shown more maturity. I’m hoping in the next few books she finally makes herself heard. I also think that for what she is supposed to be that she should be a lot more kick ass that she is at the moment.

I had real problems with Asher, he’s only appealing trait seems to be his abs. I get that he is Eve’s protector but he is so overbearing it’s almost suffocating. He also keeps lots of secrets from Eve in the name of said protection, and I feel had he been more open with her she would have been able to make more informed choices.

When he first introduced in Revelation Gage is painted as a bad guy but after reading Restraint we learn there is a lot more to him, one of the things that I liked most about him is that he lives by his own rules. He is gray in a book where everything else is very black and white. There’s not much I liked about this book but the supporting characters are pretty awesome and Gage is probably the only reason I’ll finish reading this series!

What I liked:

The storyline was what really caught my eye, I liked the gargoyle aspect a lot and that Eve is supposed to a savior for mankind. Gage! I really like all the mystery that surrounds him. I found him to be a much more interesting character than Asher.

Things that I didn’t like:

The angst with a capital A! There is a lot of it in this series and it got so repetitive all the time, I don’t need the to main characters to be panting over each other the whole time for me to know that they are attracted to one another.  Asher! I can’t pinpoint why but there is something about him that just rubs me the wrong way!

Overall if you like angst-filled books with lots of drama and a touch of the supernatural I would recommend this book to you.

My Rating: 3/5

Leave a Reply

