Losing It – Cara Carmack

Blurb: 

Sick of being the only virgin among her friends, Bliss Edwards decides the best way to deal with the problem is to lose it as quickly and simply as possible – a one-night stand. But her plan turns out to be anything but simple when she freaks out and leaves a gorgeous guy alone and naked in her bed with an excuse that no one with half-a-brain would ever believe. And as if that weren’t embarrassing enough, when she arrives for her first class of her last college semester, she recognizes her new theatre professor. She’d left him naked in her bed about 8 hours earlier

Page Length: 189
Publication Date: 2012
Genre: New Adult

Characters:

Main Character:
Bliss Edwards

Other Characters:
Garrick Taylor, Cade, Kelsey

I’m starting this review by first confessing that I use New Adult books as a bit of a pallet cleanser usually after reading books with heavy plot lines. I like to have a break and read something light and fun. I also haven’t this genre for a couple of months so I was eager to jump back in.

Losing It is told from Bliss’s perspective, it’s a college romance with a forbidden love element thrown in. If you liked Loving Mr. Daniels, Teach Me or V is for Virgin chances are you’ll enjoy this book.

I really liked that Cara Carmack chose Bliss to be 22 years old and to still be a virgin. There aren’t too many books that touch on the subject of going through college and still being a virgin. Most of the books I have come across that have a similar storyline have lead characters that are 17/18. Having Bliss be a little older really helped me to relate to her.

The overall story was actually very sweet, the only thing that I really didn’t enjoy was the Cade issue. (Spoilers) The whole male best friend being secretly in love with the main lead is a little cliche and I felt that this story was strong enough on its own without having that storyline thrown in. The only other little niggle I had was with Kelsey, who is Bliss’s best friend. She came across as a bit shallow at times and a tad childish.

I liked the writing of this book it was a very easy read, I finished this book in a day as it wasn’t very long.

Overall I would definitely recommend this book. My Rating: 3/5

 

 

Leave a Reply

